Tinder announced on Friday that is testing a new option that allows users to share a Tinder’s profile with a friend. The “share” option will generate a temporary link which can be shared via text and that will expire in five clicks or 72 hours, whichever comes first.
Anyone who received the shared profile will have the option of choosing right or left for that person on their own account. After the friend has received the profile and swiped, he or she may appear in that person’s recommendations, as long as the user meets the potential match’s preferences already set, the dating app said in a statement.
Until now, the “shared” feature is in its early stages and a small group of users will be the ones able to test the option and share a profile they come across. According to the popular dating app, the feature will be tested in various markets and may differ in appearance and functionality depending on location.
Although Tinder confirmed to Business Insider that the profile link will be only shareable via text message, the feature may have previously included integration with other messaging apps like WhatsApp and GroupMe, according to MEL.
Social media outrage
Some users have felt treated by what the new feature propose and have been sharing their fears of social media. “The potential for unwelcome sharing and bullying is mind boggling,” tweeted user Lyricismist.
The new feature is not mandatory, due to the fact that anyone who does not like the possibility of their profile going around could just disable the option by visiting Discovery settings.
But users who do not feel comfortable with the idea, should have in mind that the feature has existed indirectly and without their permission since its very beginning, and it is called screenshot. Now, the destinatary just will have the added option of actually swiping to find out whether they are a match or not.