Is that time of the year again! The MTV Video Music Awards will take place on Sunday, Aug. 28, at 9 p.m. ET. The show will be aired on MTV directly from the Madison Square Garden in New York City.

The channel never announced an official host for the awards, but DJ Khaled and comedians Nicole Byer and Jay Pharoah will be the “main commentators.” Also, it is probably that Kanye will self-appoint himself as the official host since some MTV executive though it was a great idea to give him whole four minutes to do whatever he wants, as confirmed by USA TODAY.

Nicki Minaj will be performing at the VMA’s this Sunday. Image credit: @MTV.

At least Kanye’s presence will improve the ratings. However, don’t expect a re-enactment of the 2009 MVAs, since Taylor Swift is believed to not attend the show this year after she did not submit herself for any category award.

How to watch the show?

In case MTV is not an option, other Viacom channels, such as VH1, BET, Spike, TVLand, Logo and Comedy Central will be airing the VMAs. Also, with a cable subscription, one can watch the show on or at the MTV app.

The Olympic swimmer Michael Phelps will be present at the VMAs. Image credit: @MTV

Who are the presenters?

MTV has disclosed the name of a few presenters. The biggest surprise is that Michael Phelps will appear, alongside the fantastic five, gymnastics: Simone Biles, Aly Raisman, Madison Kocian, Gabby Douglas, Laurie Hernandez, and Aly Raisman. Puff Daddy, Kim Kardashian, Alicia Keys, and Jimmy Fallon will also present.

The Chainsmokers will be performing at the VMAs this Sunday. Image credit: @MTV

Surprises between the performers

As of Sunday morning, MTV had revealed that Ariana Grande, Nicki Minja, Rihanna, Nick Jonas, Ty Dolla $ign and Future will perform during the show. As a surprise, Britney Spears will return to the VMAs’ stage after a decade of absence.

She is expected to perform her new single “Make Me.” She will raffle off her outfit, as a way to raise funds for her home state, Lousiana, after the floods.

MTV Vmas
“So excited for tomorrow! Performing with the one & only @g_eazy 😍😍😍 #VMAs,” wrote @Britneyspears. Image credit: @Britneyspears

The red carpet, preshow and aftershow

The red carpet begins on MTV at 6:15 p.m. ET, while the live stream will start at 7:00 p.m. ET. The preshow will then start at 8:00 p.m. ET. Lukas Graham, Alessia Cara, and Jidenna will be performing during this time.

MTV vmas
After the VMAs, the postshow will begin at 11:30 p.m. ET and will last until midnight. Image credit: @MTV.

The nominations

Beyoncé leads the nomination polls, with eleven awards, followed by Adele with eight nominations. The two will compete for Video of the Year, alongside Kanye West, Justin Bieber, and Drake. They are also both nominated for Best Female Video, as is Rihanna, Sia and Ariana Grande.

Late legend David Bowie also has four posthumous nominations, in the “professional categories” which will not be televised. The nominations are for Best Art Direction for Blackstar, Best Direction for Lazarus, Best Cinematography also for Lazarus, and finally Best Editing, for the same video.

Rihanna will get a special treat

Rihanna has been honored as the receiver of the very-much sought after Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award, which recognizes musicians who have contributed enormously to the “MTV culture.”

Kanye West, Beyoncé, and Justin Timberlake have also received the same award.

Source: The Washington Post