Toronto, Canada – On Sunday night, the iHeartRadio Much Music Video Awards (iHeart Radio MMVAs) took place one more time to celebrate Canadian talent. Rapper, singer and songwriter Drake dominated the show by taking home five awards.

Held in the city of Toronto, Ontario, the show was hosted by supermodel Gigi Hadid. CTV, Much Music and and other channels did a broadcast of the event.

Drake and Justin Timberlake Performed at iHeartRadio Music Festival in 2013. Credit: Atlanta Black Star

Drake owned the stage by winning five awards

His music video for the mega-hit “Hotline Bling” made of him the big winner of the night. The video clip earned awards for Best Hip Hop Video, Best Director for Director X, and the most desired award of the night, Video of the Year. This video became viral and worthy of hundreds of memes around the web, since its release in 2015. It was included as a bonus track in his acclaimed album “Views.”

The Toronto’s native, whose real name is Aubrey Drake Graham, also won the award for Most Buzzworthy Canadian, and for Best MuchFACTVideo for his collaboration with OVO Sound partners Majid Jordan in the song “My Love.”

The five awards make eight in total for Drake at the iHeartRadio MMVAs, which make him one of the most awarded artists in the history of the annual show. He ties with Avril Lavigne and leaves him with two more to go to reach Our Lady Peace and Billy Talent.

Pitifully, Drake could not make it to the official event in Toronto, since he is currently in the Dominican Republic filming the music video for his most recent collaboration with rapper French Montana, “No Shopping”.

Fifth Harmony member Camila Cabello did pretty well, too. She earned four different awards. With Fifth Harmony, she won Fan Fave International Artist or Group and Most Buzzworthy International Artist or Group. And her collaboration with Shawn Mendes in “I Know What You Did Last Summer” was awarded for Best Pop Video and Fan Fave Video.

Other winners of the night include Justin Bieber for Fan Fave Artist or Group, The Weeknd for iHeartRadio Canadian Single Of The Year with “Can’t Feel My Face” and Nick Jonas for iHeart International Artist of the Year. Jonas took the time to say some thoughtful words about the Orlando shooting that happened earlier this week.

“We love you, we have not forgotten you,” he said during his speech. Right after that, he made a performance for the fans on the sidewalk, making the first time in the history of the iHeartRadio MMVAs an artist performs on the street.

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis took the award for iHeartRadio International Duo or Group of the Year, and also performed during the ceremony, Tegan and Sara, Fifth Harmony, Alessia Cara, Desiigner and Shawn Mendes, who performed his latest single “Treat You Better”.

Source: AllHipHop